Going Greek at Illinois Tech

When I came to Illinois Tech, as a freshman, straight out of high school, I had no intention of even considering Greek life on campus. In our society today, many people equate Greek life with partying, drinking, and hazing, and I was among the many that did. Little did I know how wrong I was.

Within the first two days on campus, I found myself at one of our fraternity houses playing Settlers of Catan with a few guys. Later, I found myself coming back to the quad to every recruitment event that week. I had no idea I was being recruited! These men were not looking to take me out to parties or anything you might see while watching Animal House, they were looking to share a brotherhood based in values and camaraderie that is hard to find on a college campus these days. So I joined. I became one of the many people in our Greek system who raise their hand when asked the question, “who here did not think they’d ever go Greek before they came to college?”

Greek life at Illinois Tech is about so much more than what you may think Greek life entails. We are one of the most positive Greek experiences around at universities today, because we have turned the focus away from what Greek organizations have become, and instead focus on what our founders originally wanted from us. We better the community through philanthropy and community service. We give back to Illinois Tech through supporting and leading many of its organizations. We build friendships that will last a lifetime, through bonds that just cannot be replicated through life in the dorms. People often ask me what the point of joining my fraternity is, or what our goal as an organization is, and I believe my answer speaks for every Greek organization on our campus when I say, “We seek to take good men and make them great.”

Peter Zurowski, Chemical Engineering, 5th year co-terminal

Leave a Reply

